Timelapses and Astrophotography

I started doing some astrophotography a year or two ago. Only wide angle stuff, I don’t have the fancy kit to do deep space stuff. It took me at least 3 or 4 months to get the knack of it. Braving the cold on my nights off work with my camera, tripod and a flask of tea. I found it quite relaxing. The camera could shoot away whilst I sat to admire the stars.

Here are a few of my decent shots. Of which there aren’t many!

I’d heard of timelapses before, but hadn’t thought much of them. That was until I came across this video!

I love the music accompanying that video. Hans Zimmers ‘Dream is Collapsing’ from the truly superb film ‘Inception’.

I thought I might try and have a shot at it. So I set up my camera to peer out the front room window and about 6 hours later, this is what I ended up with.

I then remembered I had kept about 200 photos in a folder from an astrophotography trip. I merged them together to see what happened.

I want to try and do some more, because it looks pretty cool. Maybe when it’s a tiny bit warmer though!

One comment on “Timelapses and Astrophotography

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by John McCue, Matt Hughes. Matt Hughes said: Timelapses and Astrophotography: http://wp.me/p1cUzJ-16 […]

Leave a Reply

