The Carl Sagan Tributes

It was only last year when I first became aware of Carl Sagan, sadly deceased but probably one of the greatest, most influential scientists to have roamed the surface of the Earth.

I heard about his 1982 series ‘Cosmos’ and immediately bought the series on Amazon and gawped in amazement at half a days worth of awesomeness!

Carl Sagan

Some of Carl Sagan’s quotes have really stuck with me and changed and re-shaped my perspective of the world. Below are a few of my favourties.

We are a way for the cosmos to know itself

For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring

Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a Universe in which there are far more galaxies than people

We are star stuff studying the stars

More recently I have found a flourishing amount of videos dedicated to Carl Sagan on YouTube, each one of them astonishing and thought provoking. Here I’m going to cram them all in one place for you all to enjoy and hopefully be as amazed as I was. Perhaps if you’ve never heard of Carl Sagan and you’re reading this, then just maybe, your perspective of the world is about to change. Enjoy!

Edit: I’ve been progressively adding more videos to this post as and when they come along. All the videos below now tot up to well over an hour of awesomeness. I know you won’t be able to watch all of them now, but do come back, I’m pretty sure you will anyway even after just watching one!

And the best til last!

Leave a Reply

