I Dream of Space

I dreamt of space. I dreamt of becoming an astronaut, much to the amusement of my classmates at secondary school. A few years later, however, I confronted reality. It was never going to happen. I still get child-like excited when I meet an astronaut, of which I have luckily met quite a few, but I’m remaining solidly stuck here. I’ll gaze up and watch the intrepid explorers venture up into the sky and I’ll still dream, dream of what they’re experiencing, the G-forces at launch, the views of our pale blue dot, the microgravity of Earth orbit.

Then, a few years ago, I heard about Virgin Galactic. Soon they’d be offering trips to space. Only for 30 minutes, but it’s a trip to space nonetheless. The price tag. Ah! $250,000. Yep, I’m still staying down here.

Virgin Galactic

2 days ago I came across I Dream of Space. They’re offering a unique opportunity…a trip to space. It’s kinda like a lottery, but it’s not (check out their FAQ’s). You buy a poster for $10 and you’re entered into the draw. Once $25,000 of ‘tickets’ have been bought (enough to cover the $250,000) it’s draw from the hat time. One lucky person will get a trip to space. Well, I just had to enter didn’t I?!

Even if my name doesn’t get plucked out (there’s a 1 in 25,000 chance – odds that are better than the lottery actually) then maybe in 15, 20 or 30 years it’ll be different. The price, I imagine, would have come down significantly, perhaps to something I might just about be able to afford.

One comment on “I Dream of Space

  1. Hey Matt!

    Our genius (if creepy) web monkeys found your post.

    You’ll be pleased to know, your odds aren’t just better than the lottery, they’re AT LEAST 15,000% better than the lottery. (Possibly more in the UK – I’m sure there’s a website for this somewhere.)

    We’d ask you to tell your friends, but… well. You’ve already told your friends. ^

    Anyways – thanks for being awesome – we’ll commence with the tweety / FB love…

    :)

    – Reuben

Leave a Reply

